ANNEX I

ORGANISATION AND PAPER SELECTION

The Organising Committee and the Scientific Committee for the Workshop were formed from members of the three writing groups plus some other well known experts.

Organising Committee

Dominique Bestion, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France, General Chair Brian L. Smith, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland, Co-Chair John H. Mahaffy, Pennsylvania State University, USA, Co-Chair Eric Hervieu, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France Martina Scheuerer, Gesellschaft für Anlagen- und Reaktorsicherheit, Germany Han-Chul Kim, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency, France, Secretariat Suk-Ho Lee, International Atomic Energy Agency, Austria, Secretariat Bernard Faydide, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France, Local Organizer

Scientific Committee

Dominique Bestion, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France Brian L. Smith, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland John H. Mahaffy, Pennsylvania State University, USA Eric Hervieu, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France Martina Scheuerer, Gesellschaft für Anlagen- und Reaktorsicherheit, Germany Ulrich Bieder, Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique, France Michele Andreani, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland Henryk Anglart, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden Mats E Henriksson, Vattenfall Development, Sweden Estelle Graffard, Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire, France Chul Hwa Song, Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute, Korea Dirk Lucas, Forschungszentrum Rossendorf, Germany Fabio Moretti, University of Pisa, Italy Tadashi Morii, Japan Nuclear Energy Safety Organization, Japan Tadashi Watanabe, Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute, Japan Ghani Zigh, United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission, USA Yassin Hassan, Texas A&M, USA

Horst-Michael Prasser, ETH Zurich and Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland

The organising committee had the major responsibility for the practicalities associated with the setting up the workshop. Announcements were drawn up and circulated, and the criteria governing paper selection based on an extended abstract defined. An email list comprising nearly 750 addresses was the basis for distributing the first announcement. As the abstracts arrived, they were sent to members of the organising and scientific committees for evaluation. Of the 79 abstracts received, 3 were rejected as being unsuitable for the objectives of the workshop and invitations to write a full paper were sent out with only 44 for oral presentations and 32 for poster presentation at the workshop. In response, 59 draft papers were received and 17 papers withdrawn.

All the draft papers were distributed to the members of the Scientific Committee who sent them to two or more reviewers. All reviewed 59 papers were subsequently finalised by the authors. In addition, each of two keynote speakers (T. Schulenberg and T. Hibiki) provided a full-length paper to accompany his presentation.

Session chairmen were chosen from members of the organising and scientific committees. Summaries of the sessions have been subsequently written by them.

CEA-Grenoble hosted the workshop, and provided the infrastructure and staff necessary to support it. The local organiser took responsibility for all matters relating to local arrangements, including allocation and equipping of lecture rooms, the production of the hand-outs, for organising refreshments, lunches and evening programmes for delegates and accompanying persons, transport and accommodation, and for keeping the registrations and accounts in order.

The workshop took place over 2½ days from 10 to 12 September 2008.